Miss Bookshelf USA

Last night was the Miss USA pageant. I didn’t watch it since I was catching up on Outlander but all the chatter about it on social media got me thinking…

How much fun would it be if I held a bookish pageant of sorts?! Miss Bookshelf USA

(Oh, you didn’t realize I’m a big dork? When it comes to books and random fun facts, then yes. Yes, I am.)

I read twenty-one books last year that I reviewed on Goodreads (I realize that’s not a lot but when you factor in the amount of picture books I read to my kids and manuscripts I beta read, my plate is full.) You can find the complete list here.

Sgbl7JW3

These are some of my Miss Bookshelf USA delegates.

After much deliberation, (i.e. rereading random chapters, getting lost in stories until I abruptly recall why I’m in here) here are my Top Ten Delegates in no particular order:

Laura McNeill’s CENTER OF GRAVITY

Maria Semple’s WHERE’D YOU GO, BERNADETTE

Marissa Meyer’s SCARLET

Carrie Dalby’s FORTITUDE

Yuval Noah Harari’s SAPIENS: A BRIEF HISTORY OF HUMANKIND

Carol Goodman’s BLYTHEWOOD

Jane Nickerson’s THE MIRK AND MIDNIGHT HOUR

John Green’s THE FAULT IN OUT STARS

Maggie Stiefvater’s THE DREAM THIEVES

Laini Taylor’s DAYS OF BLOOD & STARLIGHT and DREAMS OF GODS & MONSTERS

As you can see, a pretty eclectic mix. Be sure to check out my Goodreads reviews to see why they made it on such a prestigious list (I know, I snorted at that too).

Without further ado, or weird commercials…

I0J29Pc8

Miss Amity goes to FORTITUDE! Seriously, Claire O’Farrell is one of the nicest characters out there.

Miss Photogenic goes to THE MIRK AND MIDNIGHT HOUR! Gorgeous cover, absolutely brimming with atmosphere.

And Mr Style goes to SAPIENS: A BRIEF HISTORY OF HUMANKIND! Yes, it’s an odd award for nonfiction, but it’s written so well and engaging. I mean, I chortled. Who chortles while reading nonfiction??

Second runner up is THE DREAM THIEVES with a tie for first runner up because there’s no way I could choose between the two: DAYS OF BLOOD & STARLIGHT and DREAMS OF GODS & MONSTERS!

zmpU66uw

And now… the moment you’ve all been waiting for…

Miss Bookshelf USA is BLYTHEWOOD!!!

lWSafuw5

I was sucked into this book from the first page, as surely as if I had played a game of Go Fish in Faerie.

So what do y’all think? Did I pull a Steve Harvey? I’d love to know what your favorites are!

(Special thanks to my daughter for sharing her Rapunzel tiara)
3 thoughts on “Miss Bookshelf USA

  1. Pingback: Second Annual Miss Bookshelf USA | candice marley conner

Leave a Reply

